Which District Of Uttarakhand Has Lowest Population?

What does District mean?

District definitions The definition of a district is a region set aside or grouped together as one specific area for political or administrative purposes.

An area of a town that gets to elect one particular mayor that all in the area must share is an example of a district.


What is the language spoken in Uttarakhand?

HindiMost of the people of Uttarakhand speak Indo-Aryan languages. Hindi is the official language of the state. Hindustani, which contains words from both Hindi and Urdu, is the principal spoken language. Other languages used in Uttarakhand include Garhwali and Kumauni (both Pahari languages), Punjabi, and Nepali.

What is the name of Uttarakhand district?

List of districtsCodeDistrictPopulation (As of 2011)PGPauri Garhwal686,572PIPithoragarh485,993RPRudraprayag236,857TGTehri Garhwal616,4099 more rows

Which district of Uttarakhand has highest population as per Census 2011?

According to the 2011 census, Haridwar, Dehradun, and Udham Singh Nagar are the most populous districts, each of them having a population of over one million.

Which is the coldest place in Uttarakhand?

AuliWhich is the coldest place in Uttarakhand? Auli is touted as the coldest destinations in Uttarakhand. Famous for its snowy slopes, Auli is also one os the best ski destinations in India.

Which is the largest district in India?

Area of India : 3,287,240 Sq km.*Largest StateRajasthan342,239 Sq kmLargest Union TerritoryAndaman & Nicobar Islands8,249 Sq kmSmallest Union TerritoryLakshadweep32 Sq kmLargest DistrictKachchh (Gujarat)45,652 Sq kmSmallest DistrictMahe ( Pondicherry )9 Sq km4 more rows

Which is the most populated district of Uttarakhand?

HaridwarDistrict wise population in Uttarakhand Haridwar is the most populous district with 2 million people, followed by Dehradun with 1.7 million, Udham Singh Nagar with 1.65 million. Chamoli is the largest district in terms of area with 8,030 sq km, followed by Uttarkashi with 8,016 sq km, Pithoragarh with 7100 sq km.

How many districts are in Uttrakhand?

13 districtsUttarakhand is mainly separated into two regions, Garhwal and Kumaon, consisting of 13 districts.

Which food is famous in Uttarakhand?

Some popular cuisines in Uttarakhand are:Gahat (Kulath) Soup.Stuffed Gahat Chapatis.Gahat (Kulath)Rasmi Badi (Kofta)Bhangjeera ki Chatni.Chainsoo.Kafuli.Urad Ke Pakore (Wada)More items…

Which is the famous festival of Uttarakhand?

Kumbh MelaKumbh Mela Kumbh Mela is one of the biggest and the most popular festival of Uttarakhand. Although technically it is a mela or fair, it is a significant occasion for the people of this northern state.

What is the famous fruit of Uttarakhand?

Bedu. Commonly known as the Punjab fig, bedu is found in the wilds of Uttarakhand. The fruit is sweet – as you would expect figs to be. Medicinal uses: Bedu helps in relieving inflammation (demulcent) and its sap is used in the treatment of warts.

Is Uttarakhand a poor state?

Uttarakhand is one of India’s fastest growing states. While poverty levels in Uttarakhand are lower than in other states, pockets within the state display a high incidence of poverty, and consumption inequality is increasing.

Why Uttarakhand is called Devbhoomi?

UUttarakhand (उत्तराखंड), formerly Uttaranchal, is a state in the northern part of India. It is often referred to as the “Land of the Gods” Devbhoomi Uttarakhand (Hindi: देवभूमि) due to the many holy Hindu temples and pilgrimage centres found throughout the state.

What is the capital of Uttarakhand?


Which district has largest area in Uttarakhand?

UttarkashiAlthough Haridwar is the largest district in the state by population but Dehradun is the largest district as far as urban population is concerned….District wise population of Uttarakhand.DistrictUttarkashiPopulation330086Rural305781Urban2430512 more columns

How many Zila are there in Uttarakhand?

13 districtsUttaranchal comprises of 13 districts (7 in Garhwal region and 6 in Kumaon).

What is special in Uttarakhand?

Some special things about Uttarakhand are : Beautiful state (Queen of Himalaya). Lots of sacred places like Haridwar, Rishikesh, Kedarnath, Badrinath, Gangotri, Yamunotri, Uttarkashi, Devprayag ( Devbhoomi, The land of Gods ). Origin land of holy rivers like Ganges/ Ganga and Yamuna.

Which is the state of Uttarakhand?

On November 9, 2000, the state of Uttaranchal—the 27th state of India—was carved out of Uttar Pradesh, and in January 2007 the new state changed its name to Uttarakhand, meaning “northern region,” which was the traditional name for the area.